Government of India Ministry of Ports, Shipping and Waterways (Development Wing)

Transport Bhawan Parliament Street New Delhi-110001

No. DW-01011/1/2019-Development Wing

Dated: 22nd April, 2024

ORDER

Sub: Reconstitution of Research Committee of the Ministry of Ports, Shipping and Waterways - reg.

In supersession of this Ministry's Order No. DW-01011/1/2019-Development Wing dated 14.06.2022, the Research Committee has been reconstituted as under:-

SI No.	Designation	Ministry / Department	Capacity
1	Additional Secretary	Ministry of Ports, Shipping and Waterways	Chairman
2	Joint Secretary (Ports)	Ministry of Ports, Shipping and Waterways	Member
3	Development Adviser (Ports)	Ministry of Ports, Shipping and Waterways	Member
4	Director	CWPRS, Ministry of Water Resource, Pune	Member
5	Adviser	Department of Science & Technology	Member
6	Member (Technical)	Inland Waterways Authority of India	Member
7	Representative	NITI Aayog	Member
8	Representative	D.G. (Shipping)	Member
9	Chief Engineer	Deendayal Port Authority	Member
10	Representative	IMU, Visakhapatnam	Member
11	Representative	NIOT, Department of Ocean Development	Member
12	Representative	Director General of Lighthouses & Lightships	Member
13	Chief Hydraulic Engineer	Syama Prasad Mookerjee Port, Kolkata	Member
14	Chief Engineer	Chennai Port Authority	Member
15	Chief Mechanical Engineer	Mumbai Port Authority	Member

16	DS/Director (Finance)	Ministry of Ports, Shipping and Member
		Waterways
17	DS/Director (dealing with the	Ministry of Ports, Shipping and Member
	R&D Scheme)	Waterways
18	Director (Engineering)	Ministry of Ports, Shipping and Member -
		Waterways Secretary

2. The functions, methodology of the Research Committee and Thrust Areas of Research Studies are as under: -

I. FUNCTIONS:

- (a) Identification of broad areas in which research is to be undertaken.
- (b) Scrutiny of schemes proposed and screening of requests for funds.
- (c) Scrutiny of proposals for acquisition of capital equipment and evaluation of funds.
- (d) Monitoring and evaluation of schemes.
- (e) Advice on methodology of dissemination of results of studies undertaken.
- (f) And all other issues relating to research pertaining to Ports, Shipping and IWT.

II. METHODOLOGY:

The Research Committee discusses the proposals submitted for research and approves the proposals subject to availability of funds if: -

- (i) The proposal comes under thrust areas.
- (ii) The study should not be of basic research.
- (iii) It should pertain to a sector dealt with by Ministry of Shipping.

III. THRUST AREAS:

A. PORT SECTOR

- (i) Generation of basic data for the coastal area in India.
- (ii) Erosion and siltation.
- (iii) Pollution control and Abatement, Designs of Coastal Structures.

- (iv) New materials for Construction and use in Ports and Harbours.
- (v) Off shore Structures including floating break waters.
- B. SHIP BUILDING AND SHIPPING SECTOR
- (i) Energy Conservation on Board ships.
- (ii) Noise and Vibration Control of ships.
- (iii) Development of maritime communication System.
- (iv) Hull Design of country boats.
- C. IWT Section
- (i) River Engineering: Physical and mathematical modelling of River behaviour.
- (ii) Hydraulic and Hydrographic data and Data base management. Computer aided base management.
- (iii) Different types of berthing structures-Development of standard designs.
- (iv) IWT Vessels-Design of standard vessels and performance prediction, Navigation aids.

The above thrust area can be extended to cover the changing needs of Ministry of Ports, Shipping and Waterways.

This issues with the approval of Competent Authority.

(Ramji Singh)

Deputy Director (Engineering)

To.

- 1. PPS to AS (PS&W).
- PS to JS(P)/PS to DA (Ports).
- 3. Director, Central Water & Power Research Station, Department of River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation, Ministry of Jal Shakti, Khadakwasla, Pune-411024.

- 4. Adviser, Department of Science & Technology, Department of Science & Technology, Technology Bhavan, New Mehrauli Road, New Delhi-110 016.
- 5. Member (Technical), Inland Waterways Authority of India, A-13, Sector-1, Noida 201301
- Chief Executive Officer, NITI Aayog, Sansad Marg, New Delhi -110001
- 7. Directorate General of Shipping, 9th Floor, Beta Building, i-Think Techno Campus, Kanjurmarg (East), Mumbai 400 042
- 8. Chief Engineer, Deendayal Port Authority, Administrative Office, Post Box No. 50, Gandhidham (Kutch)-370201
- 9. Director, IMU Visakhapatnam New Campus, Vangali Village, Tekkalipalem Post, Near Rayavarapu Agraharam, Sabbavaram Mandal, Visakhapatnam 531035
- 10. Director, National Institute of Ocean Technology, Department of Ocean Development, Velacherry-Tambaram Main Road, Narayanapuram, Pallikaranai, Chennai 600 100
- 11. Director General of Lighthouses & Lightships, B-1, Tulsi Marg, Block B, Sector 23, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201301
- 12. Chief Hydraulic Engineer, Syama Prasad Mookerjee Port Authority, Hydraulic Study Department, 20, Garden Reach Road, Kolkata 700 043
- Chief Engineer, Chennai Port Authority, Rajaji Salai, Chennai-600001
- 14. Chief Mechanical Engineer, Mumbai Port Authority, Nirman Bhavan, 5th Floor, Mazgaon, Mumbai 400 010.
- 15. Deputy Secretary (Finance), Ministry of Ports, Shipping and Waterways, Transport Bhawan, New Delhi.
- 16. Director (Shipping), Ministry of Ports, Shipping and Waterways, Transport Bhawan, New Delhi.
- 17. Director (Engineering), Ministry of Ports, Shipping and Waterways, Transport Bhawan, New Delhi.

Copy to:

- PPS to Secretary (PSW) for information.
- 2. PPS to AS & FA (PSW) for information.